Bradley Hanlon | Staff Writer

10/10

Geocaching has been around since 2001 but has recently garnered international attention. Millions of geocaches are hidden among the world, but one question still plagues me: why are people so interested in it? I decided to try it out myself and took up this hobby. I ended up venturing out into the great unknown, scavenging for some of these prized possessions. The website, geocaching.com, has plenty of beginner-level caches that I selected to hunt for, and it was surprisingly very fun. At first, I thought that you took the whole box, but it turns out that you just sign a slip of paper with your name and the date you found it. Seeing all of the people who came before me and signed this piece of paper was mesmerizing. It may sound simple, but going out into the world with your family and friends, reveling in a wild goose chase for a tiny box, it’s pretty amazing. It gives you this magical feeling in the pit of your stomach and makes you feel so good about yourself. Maybe you’ve even walked by it in your life, and never even noticed it was there! That’s why I give this hobby a 10/10 – because even the smallest things in life can make your day a whole lot better.