Makeup used as tool for self expression and creativity

Abby Fulton | Staff Writer

Hannah Lohmueller | Staff Writer

Powder isn’t the only thing being pressed into a mold.

Students at MMS have been feeling the pressure of society’s expectations, resulting in a stronger push to wear makeup. In a 2012 study conducted by the Renfrew Center Foundation, 38 percent of girls start wearing makeup between the ages of eight and 13. These girls feel the need to alter their features for the purpose of better fitting American beauty standards.

Eighth grader Isabella Johns said that she wears makeup because it makes her feel better about her appearance.

“It makes me feel more confident in the way I look,” Johns said. “It’s mostly my choice – it’s just something I like doing and I want to do. If I wanted to, I wouldn’t wear makeup.”

Health teacher Kimberly Schaffer said that she was confident in her appearance when she was in middle school.

“I was pretty comfortable in my own skin,” Shaffer said. “I didn’t feel the need to cover my face or hide from certain aspects of who I was. I was pretty comfortable in saying, ‘This is me, take it or leave it.’ ”

Seventh grader Brady Billhorn said that girls can sometimes wear too much makeup, but it doesn’t affect him.

“I feel like they wear too much makeup sometimes,” Billhorn said. “It doesn’t really

bother me very much, they can if they want to.”

Some girls feel pressured to wear makeup, yet guys who want to wear makeup feel pressured not to. Even though this might be the case, it’s becoming more common to see guys wearing makeup.

Eighth grader Mayank Naik said that he only feels self-conscious wearing makeup around people that aren’t his friends.

“I feel judged by guys mostly because it’s not a normal thing,” Naik said. “I usually get called out for something if they know, so I usually don’t tell people about it.”

Shaffer said that it’s fine for both boys and girls to wear makeup as long as they are doing it for the right reasons.

“If they have skin problems or they’re trying to cover some kind of blemishes, people can become very self-conscious,” Shaffer said. “If people do it to make themselves feel better, that’s one aspect of it. If they’re doing it to impress other people or trying to keep up, I think that’s a different reason.”

Johns said that she likes seeing more guys doing makeup as an outlet for their creativity.

“I’ve been seeing more (guys wearing makeup) recently – – I think it’s cool that more people are discovering makeup as an art form,” Johns said. “I love to see people be creative with it and make new looks. I think that it’s cool that more people are discovering it.”

Naik said that other boys who are self-conscious or have an interest shouldn’t be afraid to wear makeup.

“From my experience I’ve been made fun of,” Naik said. “But if you’re a guy, it’s normal to wear makeup and you shouldn’t feel scared to wear makeup in public.”

Johns said that it’s important to understand that wearing makeup is your decision, not others.

“I don’t think it’s a decision of when you should start wearing makeup,” Johns said. “It’s mostly when you want to start wearing makeup and when you start to find interest in makeup.”

Leave a Reply

